• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Who is usually the Radio Operator?

brendanthompson

Inactive
Reaction score
Hey umm I was wondering if it is infantry men or combat engineers who work the radios most of the time in the field?

All help is appreciated.:) 

JBoyd said:
wouldn't Signal Operators?

In 11 years as a combat engineer, i never once had a sig op work the radios in any of my sections, troops or at the Sqn level. Regimental HQ had a few but they worked the regimental CP. At lower levels , it was always an engineer working the radios.

It varies with unit and availability of manpower in various trades.  Most times, Pl level Signallers are of the same trade as the rest of the Pl, i.e. if we're talking about infantry, then the Pl Sig would be an Inf guy with a comms crse.  Most of the time, the Coy/Sqn Sig would be a Jimmy.

There are exceptions to these rules though.

You're not likely to see Sigs working much below Coy lvl, however that doesn't mean we won't fill a hole where needed.
Given the iterations of new organizations ie: OMLT,PRT and "other", not to mention the other elements. The Air Force in particular is going to be absorbing a few more posns for Sig Op in the future as MES is going to be the way ahead.
Long story short...Cbt Arms...Engrs: usually no siggies below Sqn lvl except EOD.
Armd: Same (except no EOD :)
We do (did), however train all designated operators in house where possible.

dan7108 said:
PRT used sig ops as PL sigs