• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

My concerns about my career

Would_be_Artillery

Inactive
Reaction score
First let me introduce myself. I am an 18 year old University of Ottawa student, currently applied into the ROTP program. I am in my first year and my choice trade was an 1.Artillery Officer, 2.Armour Officer, 3.MARS Officer, but after my medical it was discovered that I have a colour deficiency level 2 for my eyes, so I could not become a MARS officer. I was never asked to pick a new 3rd choice, so I guess this limits my chance of getting offers from the get-go.

I applied to ROTP in November of last year, had my aptitiude, medical and interview and seemed to pass them all quite well(colour blindness aside), and am awaiting an offer that shoud be coming soon. But I now have grave concerns. I was very much a high 70's student in highschool, but I have really performed poorly in my first year(trying to save the second semester). Too much partying as well as several crisis with my family and a relationship, suffice it to say there was a time where I thought my dreams of a military career were all but gone. I stumbled across these forums with some comfort, and here I am. I know ROTP is very competitive, and I may get an offer before the forces know about the mess i've made out of my first year. Will they subsequently kick me out of ROTP if they find out about my first year? I am trying to get back on track here and starting next year I promised myself i'd take my school much more seriously. I guess what i'm trying to know is, is it too late? I tell myself that many fail and get disoriented in their first year and the military is what I want to do as a career and I don't think I could deal with it being closed off to me, for some stupid decisions I have made and some unfortunate things that have happened.