• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Becoming a Pilot in the CF.

J_Muir

Inactive
Reaction score
Hey guys, i'm a newbie to this forum , although I've be scowering through various threads for the past little while trying to gather as much information as I can before I start my own thread. Please don't simply tell me to search...I might be new to this forum, but I've got about 3000 posts on another on, so I know how annoying it is when an ignorant newb asks basic questions....but bare with me :)

Basically, I have 2 years of university left and have my heart set on joining the Air Force upon finishing my degree. I've decided against ROTP for reasons not worth getting in to, so Direct Entry is the route for me.

Some of the following questions I have already recieved answers for (although sugar-coated by recruiters I'm sure). I'm now looking for some people who have experienced the road from recruitment to Officer Training to Second Language Training all the way up to getting their wings, to help me gather more info.

Firstly, is time frame. What is the realistic time frame from the time you begin Officer Training to the time you recieve your wings? I've heard that there are a lot of breaks in between stages too - how long do those last?

Best case scenario, I'll be flying F-18's (bet you've heard that before). Can anyone with experience or knowledge take me through the steps which you took (or are taking) to reach your goal? ie...Went here to do my 'x' training for 'y' years and then got selected for 'z' ..etc etc.