• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Basic Vehicle Maintenance

S

Sharpey

Just curious to see if other units are in the same boat as us...
We use the pretend Coyote Iltis in our regiment. Our wheels pretty much make us what we are. If there is a defect with our vehicles, do you think we are allowed to fix it? NO!
For some reason, our regiment is deprived of the ability to do basic driver maintenance. Change the oil? HA, can‘t even do that. As a driver, I am responsible for my vehicle, if it goes done in the field for a reason that I could have rectified but not given the authority to do, well... thats just stupid!
Any other Regiments out there with this same problem or are we just getting the shaft?

Unbelievable.

As a maintenance officer, I would have loved it if the troops really wanted to do their driver maint! For example, there was the M109 that came in with both filter/separators filled with water -- and more water backed up in the lines. The gunners didn‘t know it wouldn‘t start ... . Turns out, they hadn‘t drained the water off in weeks.

Perhaps the reason your regiment has pulled back on this is that you don‘t have a QL5 qual 411 to watch over things -- sort of a prevention against troops going too far in what they think is driver maint. But really, any section comd should be able to monitor the basics.

Good luck in getting this one changed. There are too few 411s out there these days to have them doing driver maint instead of actual repairs.

Gonna jump in here. the young fella brings up a good point. do you know how long it takes a Res F soldier to get Qual‘d to QL5? and when he/shedoes get Qual‘d, what type of and quantity of tools is their unit allowed to have? We had an ex Reg F QL6 411 who finally quit because he had NOTHING to do the work with!!(it‘s not a unit problem, it‘s a supply
problem!) :p