• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Direct Entry

Would_be_Artillery

Inactive
Reaction score
Not sure where this should have been posted but I have a few questions about direct entry as an officer. When you apply, with your degree, are you subject to competing with ROTP candidates for that year? If so, do you have any edge over ROTP candidates? If not, roughly how many direct entry positions are available each year? Does one applying via direct entry have more say in which trade they would like to be enrolled in? Finally, is direct entry a realistic and viable method of becoming an officer in the CF? Thank you.

I'm no expert, but I'm pretty sure that Direct and ROTP have separate selections. Hence the different entrance plans. ;)
I might be wrong though, just my outlook.

Someone feel free to correct me if I'm wrong.

And for your other questions.......I don't know, sorry.

Hopefully some more knowledgeable people can answer them.

Cheers,
Jason

Would_be_Artillery said:
Not sure where this should have been posted but I have a few questions about direct entry as an officer.

When you apply, with your degree, are you subject to competing with ROTP candidates for that year?

No. Each year there are different numbers for ROTP and DEO. If anything, the DEO candidate can be considered to be competing with the ROTP applicants from 4 years ago.

If not, roughly how many direct entry positions are available each year?

This varies from year to year and from trade to trade. For example, this fiscal year is the first time in a few years that there have been any DEO pilot numbers taken at all. I have a feeling those will go fast. Some other trades are less competitive. For example, if have a feeling that if you're a fully qualified Pharmacist and meet all the other requirements (Medical, Security, etc), you have a very very good chance of getting in.