• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Combat Engineers vs engineering officers

SeanMichael

Inactive
Reaction score
I am thinking about joining up as a engineering officer, but i was reading up on combat engineers and i like how they work a lot in the field. So I was just curious if as an officer, would i get to do lots of field work, or would i be a pencil pusher? I also like the fact that as a combat engineer I would have the option to become a paratrooper, combat dive, etc.

As an Officer you will get to do both. Especially in training.

In regiment, as an NCM, you will initially spend countless hours sitting around doing very little, while the officers are pushing papers (or playing solitaire).  When you climb up in rank as an NCM you are given more to do but that takes time.

However, you will get to do all the fun stuff in the field as an NCM.

If you are already university educated, I would highly advise to apply for Officer. In the long run, there are more opportunities.

Those courses will appear at some point in your career.

Airborne Engineers are rare these days, and there is heavy competition for a slot on a course. You stand a better chance of landing a course as an Officer, but still. Really, it is just a jump course, and you get to jump once in a while (once every couple years, more if you are lucky)

Combat Divers, the opportunity will come up at some point in your Career when a slot opens up. I only know of one fellow who got to into combat divers of all the combat Engineers I trained with. It sounds like a horrible selection process to be able to splash around in a mucky river or lake.

Really, working with EOD and IED training are the most important areas of Combat Engineers these days. It is funded better and courses are offered more frequently.

Pieman said:
You stand a better chance of landing a course as an Officer, but still.