• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Band Companies

xT_Tx

Inactive
Reaction score
Hey guys, just wondering

Since there are so many sterotypes about band companies at camp and the band at ur home corps, do u think that all the sterotypes are true..that band companies are lazy sissys?? Or are they talented musicians....after all it takes skill to march in time and play and watch mace commands at the same time. :)

I've got a lot of respect for pipers, drummers, musicians, as I'm not good at music, someones gotta do it. ;D

YOU  YOUR

Most people who stereotype band folk such as myself as lazy just don't know the effort that we put in during the summer.

There not lazy they just don't like the band they like other things and why band gets bad reps is because no one gives them that chance to show how hardcore they are then any other companies at camp....i should know i went to  Juliet in blackdown..... :-\

The band focuses on music training and development, as such they're not seen in the same light as other course.  For a non musician it is difficult to understand the work required in mastering the art of music, all they see is cadets sitting in classrooms all day blowing away at their instruments ... which is why band is typically labelled in such a way.  Also because the band don't learn as much about other aspects of cadet training (ex. bushcraft, map and compass, etc) they're labelled as "slack" for not knowing these things (despite their proficiency in music).

Basically band is labelled as they are due to a lack of knowledge about what is involved in being a musician.  Cadets taking band courses can still excel in other areas of cadets, if they put their mind to it.

(I was a J Coy course cadet in 00, 01, and 02 ... and a K Coy Staff Cadet in 04 at Blackdown).

Zedic said: