• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Are there national training standards?

Bignose

Inactive
Reaction score
Is there a published national standard that lists what training an NCM or officer has to do when recruited to the reserves?
For example; an NCM seems to go to BMQ, followed by SQ, followed by trade training.
An officer according to recruiting videos go the BMOQ-L then off to trade training.

I'm waiting for training in the reserves as an officer and have been told I need to do BMQ (4 weeks), followed by BMOQ-L (15 weeks), followed by trade training.

This seems to be more than a reg. force officer recruit?

Any clarification would be appreciated.

Bignose said:
Is there a published national standard that lists what training an NCM or officer has to do when recruited to the reserves?
For example; an NCM seems to go to BMQ, followed by SQ, followed by trade training.
An officer according to recruiting videos go the BMOQ-L then off to trade training.

I'm waiting for training in the reserves as an officer and have been told I need to do BMQ (4 weeks), followed by BMOQ-L (15 weeks), followed by trade training.

This seems to be more than a reg. force officer recruit?

Any clarification would be appreciated.
Reg force officer candidates do a 15 week BMOQ, followed by BMOQ-L if they are army, or if their particular occupation requires it (MPO, CELE, etc.).

You won't be doing more training than a reg force officer. If you do a weekend BMOQ, then some would argue that you actually do substantially less training. That, however, is a debate that I don't care to engage in (often leads to conflict!).

The recruit training Capt. Even he said "they" keep changing the requirements and this summers training plans seem to be particularly problematic.