• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

2006 Parliamentary Debate on AFG Mission

RogueMedic

Inactive
Reaction score
As a former Canadian soldier I am appalled by the suggestion to hold an open debate on whether we should be in Afghanistan or not.  I applaud the Prime Minister for holding steady and not allowing men like Jack Layton to tarnish the honor of the sacrifices made by our fallen soldiers and by the soldiers on the ground currently standing up for what’s right.  It is because of men like Jack Layton that our military has had to struggle to regroup itself after being starved and pillaged by the previous governments.  I know first hand what challenges the men and women in uniform face being on tour.  The last thing that we as Canadians should be doing is stomping all over their dedication and sacrifice because of some casualties.  What many politicians fail to realize is that we are locked into a struggle with an enemy that is truly dedicated to their cause and shoots to kill.  There will be casualties and we will mourn as a country.  We cannot however abandon the Afghanistan population when they need us most.  This does not represent the values that we as Canadians hold dear and it surely doesn’t represent the core values of the Canadian Forces.  Has any one of these politicians thought about the consequences of showing weakness?  It will only encourage further and stronger attacks against our forces.  In World War II when our Canadian Forces were faced with stiff opposition on the battlefront against the Axis forces, did we hold a parliamentary debate on whether to be in the war or not?  If it was not right then, what makes it right now?  Our Canadian Forces have distinguished themselves in the international community and I know that our forces will make Canada and the international community proud when they distinguish themselves once again.