Author Topic: GTA Infantry Regiments  (Read 12858 times)

Offline 9Tiger9

• Rate Post
GTA Infantry Regiments
« on: December 25, 2007, 22:58:38 »
       I am currently a student at RMC in my third year.   I am planning on buying a house in the GTA due to my desire to do private flight training for my second carrear after my regular force commitment, with Toronto Airways.  The two locations of the flight training are at the Oshawa municipal airport and the Buttonville airport.   I am wondering which reserve regiments meet the following criteria:   
        I) Closest in proximity by car to either Oshawa or Markham Ontario (I have a very limited knowledge of the GTA and its traffic and commuting possibility).
        2) The regiment with the best internal structure; for example, least manning shortages, turnout on parade nights, best leadership both at the Officer and NCO level.
Lastly, if anyone has any information on the opportunities and any information (selection, availability, etc) on RSS postings.

As this is long term planning any information or insight would be helpfull before I commite to both the flight school and house hunting pursuits.  Other backround information that may help I hope to serve with the 3rd battalion of eather the RCR or PPCLI for my remaining mandatory service and would like to transfer to the reserves after.

Moderator please move if necessary
Humans have 2 ears and only 1 mouth. Logically, they should listen 2x more than they speak-The true social paradox

Offline NFLD Sapper

• Mentor
  • Army.ca Fixture
  • Rate Post
  • CFSME STAFF
Re: GTA Infantry Regiments
« Reply #1 on: December 25, 2007, 23:06:19 »
Not sure of their distances from where you want but here goes:

48th Highlanders
Queens Own Rifles (they have a jump company/platoon since you want to go either 3 RCR or 3 PPCLI)
Royal Regiment of Canada
Toronto Scottish Regiment
CHIMO!
First in, Last out
Sappers Lead the Way