• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

sensitive ears and loud noises

lahskule

Inactive
Reaction score
after combing through the literature I received at the recruiting center, I've settled on an occupation: primary reserve infantry solider. However, there's one aspect of concern. In the pamphlet I have here, it says that soldiers are "frequently subjected to loud noises, both in training and on operations."

I've always had sensitive ears (to loud noises like airplanes, gunshots). I don't go to rock concerts and musicals for this reason. At the movies, I need to plug my ears at loud parts in the film (like during the THX opening bit). I know as an infantry soldier I'm going to be exposed to loud noises. As long as I have the advance warning to insert earplugs, I should be ok. But if earplugs aren't allowed, or loud noises happen without warning, I could be quite uncomfortable. Any other sensitive ear infanteers around who might have some input?

Infantry may not be for you. Perhaps you should look in the CS/CSS trades.

The Artillery is looking for recruits..........atleast thats what I thought the guy said...........what?

George Wallace said:
Do you know what the worse Trade in the CF is for Hearing Loss?   -   Cook.

Is this still true? While it may sound like folklore, it was a fact at one time.  I recall reading a study back in the 80s concerning medical categories.  One of the main reasons at that time for higher than normal percentage of hearing loss in cooks was a high percentage of Cooks who had remustered from Cbt Arms.  A contributing factor was poor hearing protection, especially in the 60s and 70s when a lot of the Cooks referred to in that study had served around things that go BANG.