• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Russian Ukrainians in the CEF

johnpeter

Inactive
Reaction score
Are you or do you know a descendant of a Russian or Ukrainian man who served in the Canadian Expeditionary Force during the First World War?  I have been researching for three years now, and have learned much about men from Ukrainian regions who enlisted in Canada.  I would like to contact and interview descendants of these veterans for a forthcoming book.  The tale of Ukrainians forced into internment camps has been told.  Now it is time to talk about the men who fought for Canada.  Please PM me if you have any info, or leave a note here.

you might try the member of parliament for dauphin Manitoba,Inky mark,he has been doing a lot of work in This field,he can probably help.there are many of Ukrainian descent in his riding,if one were to want info for research on this,that would be a great place to look.

If memory serves me right, there was a Ukranian canadian that came from Ottawa, served in the GGFG / Camerons (or unit perpetuated by them) that won decoration for valour. After the war he worked at housekeeping in the House of Commons and pretty much had the run of the place for as long as he cared to be there.
Gotta dig up articles from the Citzen....

parkie said:
you might try the member of parliament for dauphin Manitoba,Inky mark,he has been doing a lot of work in This field,he can probably help.there are many of Ukrainian descent in his riding,if one were to want info for research on this,that would be a great place to look.
Thanks.  I know Mr. Mark has been working on the redress issue for the internees; but perhaps he has run across some vets.  I will ask.

geo said: