• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Reserves before Reg Infantry?

o AXE

Inactive
Reaction score
A bit of a backstory about me: I graduated university with a BA in Geography this spring, and am set on joining the infantry. I want to go in as an NCO to gain the experience I feel will make me a better officer should I go that route down the road. I know the waiting period (for infantry especially) can be long, so I am wondering if now would be a good time to join a Res unit. I went to school in BC but live in London, making it impossible to join the Res throughout my schooling. 4RCR is located right here in London and would be the ideal unit (granted there is a spot open). If given the choice, 3RCR is where I would want to end up.

From what I've read, joining the Res can be a good idea if you are likely going to wait a while to get into the Reg. My question is how difficult/long the CT process really is. Would it possibly be faster to not join the Res and go straight into Reg when I potentially hear about a job? Is the Reg infantry likely that long of a waiting period (>2 years)? Regardless, would the Res be worth the experience on my Reg application and trump the potential time spent waiting on the CT process?

Preciate the help.

a.  The recruiting process can be long and slow for either Reg or Res.

b.  The CT process can be long and slow.

c.  Starting as an NCO does not mean you can transfer to an Officer track at will. You can do it as you CT, or you can wait until you are given an opportunity, but it's not something to base your plan on.

d.  If you want to be a Reg Force infantry officer, start with that.