• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Red seal looking interested in Navy

WestGirl36

Inactive
Reaction score
Hello,

I am currently a red seal journeyman electrician. I am interested in changing from my mundane 9-5 maintenance job at the plant into something more rewarding/exciting.

I have also completed my 4th class power engineering and have a lot of safety courses.

I am interested in joining the Navy; as I have done a lot of research on this site and that intrigues me the most.

I've looked into E Tech. I am also interested in a bit of a career move into something more IT/intelligence based like Nav Comm. I am not apposed to doing more technical training whether that be college or university as well.

My questions are... Will my electrical ticket give me some sort of credit in the CF? If so which trades? From my background/statements above do you suggest any other occupations that may suit me?

Thank you for your time

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Good Day,

In regards to your ticket, depending on which occupation you are joining along with what experience you have in regards to school and work experience and qualifications the Canadian Armed Forces absolutely will give credit to individuals (the process is a Prior Learning Assessment), what exact credit would be given would be determined in the recruiting process and should you wish to join would be given to you in writing prior to you joining the CAF.

In regards to suggesting other occupations, there are several follow up questions that a recruiter would ask you, so I highly encourage you to visit your closest CFRC (http://www.forces.ca/en/centres/findarecruiter-110) to speak with a Recruiter face to face.  You did mention that you work 9-5 so you could always contact the CFRC and ask when they would be at a career fair so that you could speak with a recruiter when it suits your schedule.