• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

RCAF IntO Posting

Stack

Reaction score
Need some help, its my first year in the CAF and got the posting talk from my CM. For some background info I am a single and prefer living in the shacks and eating at the mess to save on costs. I want to avoid Ottawa because of the high cost of living but I will likely be posted there regardless. The positions that are available are:

North Bay - 22 wing

Ottawa- CJOC, CFINTCOM / CDI / CFJIC
Ottawa -JIOC (CFICC / JTIC)
Ottawa - RCAF HQ (C Air Force)

Trenton-8 Wing

Cold Lake - 4 Wg / Sqns

Winnipeg-1 Cdn Air Div

Ideally I want to be posted in a tactical unit as I was told its the highest chance for deployment and best for my career progression. Can anyone list the pros and con of these orgs. TIA!

Rations and Quarters are unlikely on most bases once you're finished training. Not impossible, but don't count on R&Q being available.

I've been posted to both Cold Lake and Trenton. If I had to choose between the two Trenton would win every time. Ottawa is a great place to be posted, but I'd personally avoid CFINTCOM/CDI if possible. Headquarters jobs aren't exactly thrill-a-minute jobs.

Manage your expectations regarding deployments in the first couple of years. Even after completing your courses you still have a lot of learning to do on the job, and you'll likely be holding the fort while the more experienced people go out the door.

Edit: I know the A2 in Trenton, he's the former WCWO and would be a great mentor for a new IntO.

What kind of community do you want to live in? When you're off duty, do you want to wander through the brush, or go to a vegan coffee shop that roasts their own ethically sourced beans?

You will have a life outside your job; you need to consider where you want to spend that life.