• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Qualification Parade once the course is done?

krimynal

Inactive
Reaction score
Pretty straight forward question.

I was wondering if once you completed the course in Borden there was a Parade?

When I completed my DP1 for Gunner this summer , there was none.  Basically they told us , we became gunner on the field and that's where our parade would be ( which is where it actually was ).  So no family or anyone that wasn't remotely involved in our graduation were there.

Is it the same thing for every trade ? or is it a combat arms specification ?

I'm a med tech and we had grad parades for both my QL3 and QL5 courses, with invited guests and photographers.
MY SQ grad was pretty informal, so may be it is a combat arms thing?
Hubby was an MP and when he was at the academy he went to lots of grad parades.
It might help if you post your specific trade. A lot of trades do their courses in Borden.

MP wise, which is all I can draw from, we always had a big blowout parade for the QL3 grad where they received their MP credentials.  Family, parents, friends, VIPs...all sorts of people there.  QL5...not so much.  Normally it's just a gathering in one of the lounges, pass out the certificates and hit the road.  Next time I had any sort of parade (not that I couldn't care less by that time in my career and just wanted to pack and go home) was at the end of my JLC (now PLQ) and ILQ courses.  Wouldn't surprize me if infantry does it the way you describe. 

krimynal said:
I was wondering if once you completed the course in Borden there was a Parade?

I'm assuming you are talking about a QL3 course at CFSATE?

that may be the name of the class , unfortunately I am not 100% sure about them !

The class I am referring to , is the AWS Tech or AVS Tech class that you do in Borden once you are fully qualified as one or the other.