• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Ph.D infantry soldiers

lahskule

Inactive
Reaction score
does anyone know one? my recruiter used this example to convince me that ncm was a perfectly acceptable choice for me.

There are hundreds of NCM's who hold Degrees.  I have one, but not a Ph.D.  I know many more who hold Degrees or College Certificates.  Many College Graduates are in the Technical Trades as NCM's.  I am sure that you will find an PhD or Masters holder amongst the NCM's on this site, both Regular and Reserve.

I knew a MCpl at RMC that was doing his Master's there - taught as any Grad student would as well.

MM

I am no longer in. When in, as NCO, I studied theoretical physics, and quite a few of my confreres had Bachelor's as well, and a couple of Masters, and at least one LLB/Sergeant - he actually passed the bar and argued a case in combat boots and a pin-stripe suit - quite a character. NCMs with degrees and advanced degrees are becoming commonplace. No biggie, pick a career and a position to shoot for and go ahead. 

Granted, this was in the late 70s and very early 80s, and everything was better and rosier then.

HAH! fat chance of anyone believing that tripe, it sounds much rosier now. >:D

Pronto

lahskule said:
does anyone know one? my recruiter used this example to convince me that ncm was a perfectly acceptable choice for me.

Youve got to be kidding - I need to hear more about the circumstances.

Now, if you WANT to be a private infantryman, despite being better educated than 99% of the people around you, thats fine and good luck to you. 

But if you've got the education why arent you applying for an officer position? I mean, you dont just have some soft degree, its a PhD! 

Centurian1985 said:
But if you've got the education why aren't you applying for an officer position? I mean, you dont just have some soft degree, its a PhD!