• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

MLVW Fire Truck or Range Truck Info

PEI Pat

Inactive
Reaction score
Hello Troops. I'm new to this site (my 1st post). I'm also ex-military.

Just wondering if anybody has some info on MLVW Fire truck configurations ? Links ? Pics ? Was it a cargo body conversion similar to the arty gun tractor mods of the late 80's, or was it a custom built body ?

Also, any word on when the MLVW will be designated surplus yet ? I have a friend that wants one for the woods.

Finally, before I posted this query, I checked out some of this particular forum. I'd like to say that I'm really impressed with the knowledge of Mil Veh displayed here by all of you. Hopefully someone can help me out here. Many thanks in advance.

PEI Pat

Hello PEI Pat. Besides being a soldier, I'm a long time fire buff and I was (very briefly) a volunteer fireman.

I am aware of two MLVW firefighting variants, both intended for brush or range firefighting. I have not seen an MLVW variant for structural firefighting or for Crash Fire Rescue (CFR)-the CF tends to use purpose-built vehicles for those roles, since the pumping capacities, etc are much higher and the vehicles must carry more specific equipment.

The two variants are not really "conversions": they are based on "pods" or modules that are mounted to the standard MLVW chassis. One features a medium capacity water tank with an independently powered pump, booster hand lines on reels, and some accessories like a light-duty suction length, some back pack tanks, brush tools, etc.  The other is a tanker variant with a larger capacity water tank, which is useful if you can't get near a standing source of water (common on some range areas in Western Canada).

I have seen them painted both emergency yellow and fire apparatus red.

You might contact the CF school of firefighting in CFB Borden to get more info.