• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Army/Navy/Air + a general question

Fauxjargon

Inactive
Reaction score
Hello all.  I have posted before regarding my biggest fear about joining the CF: being an officer and commanding others.  Right now I am a mechanical engineer that supervises a small team of employees, but unlike the army it is not exactly a life and death situation.  If I screw up, money goes away instead of people being killed or maimed.  I have screwed up.  It cost us money.  It felt awful, but it was just money.  I realize the CF will train me to be an officer but I am not ready to take responsibility for the death of a subordinate.  Is this healthy?  I have been told before that my doubts about being an officer make me officer material but I am a skeptic.
The other question is, why would I care which branch of the military I join?  The website makes you pick one branch to apply for, but I have no preference as to which branch of the army I join.  All of them protect the sovereignty of the greatest nation on our little planet and despite the failures of our current government I would be proud to serve Canada.

Fauxjargon said:
The other question is, why would I care which branch of the military I join?  The website makes you pick one branch to apply for, but I have no preference as to which branch of the army I join.  All of them protect the sovereignty of the greatest nation on our little planet and despite the failures of our current government I would be proud to serve Canada.

For starters, the element you choose has an impact on your employment. There are purple trades which may be posted to units of any element, such as logistics officer.  However, if being at sea, visiting foreign ports is of interest, you might want to pick Navy.