• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Am I good enough to be an infantry officer?

roman.t32

Inactive
Reaction score
I know this question is probably asked a million times but I wanted to ask an answer about me specifically. Any feedback or advice would be greatly appreciated.

So I graduated in 2022 and I've been working for the past year since I wasn't sure what I wanted to do. Recently I applied to the infantry but didn't get accepted due to medical reasons. However I realized that I want to be an officer and not a NCM. I've heard that it's really hard to get into RMC, and it also depends on how many people are being accepted that year.
I don't know if there are different cfat's for NCM and Officers, but when I applied to the infantry I was told I got 87% on it.

I graduated with an 81% average in high school (personal things came up and I got a 68% in calculus which dragged my average down). I wasn't very active in school sports, but I've been going to the gym for 2 years and I'm in pretty good shape. I also ran a leadership club my senior year; it was the first time it was ever done in my area and it was very successful. I worked afterschool for almost all of my grade 11 & 12 years as well.

Is this enough for me to make the competitive list as an infantry officer? I saw that I might be able to use my grade 11 math mark if I apply for an art degree which would raise my average to 86%.

I am planning to apply for next year, so I have time to improve as much as I can. I was thinking of maybe taking a summer course, or volunteering more.

Really you're askign two questions. The part you put out front is "Am I good enough to be an infantry officer?", but the real question underlying that is "am I competitive for RMC?"