• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

VAC mental health services

theoldyoungguy

Inactive
Reaction score
Hello everyone, been a long time since I posted on here. I have a question and am looking for opinions from those that have dealt with VAC for mental health concerns.

Im a 2008 vet and always believed my mental health was great. I have since had a lot of discovery, especially in the past two years and after discussing this at length with my wife I have come to the realization I have been living with anxiety for years and it is negatively affecting my family. I believe this may have been a result of my tour as I do not recall these behaviors prior, I always thought this was normal for vets and just intermittently coped with alcohol(which I have been working on quitting with some minor success). Is it worth my while speaking with VAC to get some help? Or has there been such a large time in between my service(got out in 2014) and now that this will be pushed off as a result of living life?

Thank you all for your input in advance, I appreciate your time!

Call OSSIS. You'll find a peer to talk to that knows what it's like being in the CAF. They'll get you plugged in with VAC and appointments with counsellors set up for you no questions asked. It's the one thing they do right. You can then follow up with a full claim once you've established that service link.

My father was in a similar situation and I got him a coffee appointment with an OSSIS peer support worker. Turns out they were on the same tour. Things moved very quickly to get him the help he needed after that.

Hey brother,